Sydney University go back-to-back in First Grade

03/04/12 Category: Events, News Posted by:

Sydney University has won back-to-back First Grade Premierships, foiling Randwick Petersham’s quest to win all three First Grade titles in the same season.

The defending champions wrapped up the First Grade Grand Final early on Sunday morning (April 1), bowling Randwick Petersham out for 185 in reply to their first innings total of 407.

Sydney University’s victory was set up on day one with Greg Mail (94) and Scott Henry (90) making the most of some excellent batting conditions. Stuart Clark hit 72 batting at number seven, while important contributions from lower order batsmen Will Sommerville (39) and James Crowley (36 not out) helped them to edge past the 400 mark early on day two before being bowled out.

Randwick Petersham needed their top order to fire but unfortunately for them, Stuart Clark was on song with the former Test quick claiming three early wickets, including Nathan Price and Simon Katich without scoring.

Usman Khawaja (24) and Adam Coyte (42) settled things down with a 57 run partnership, however, Khawaja’s run out followed by two quick wickets to Stuart MacGill reduced them to 6-97. Fortunately, Nathan Hauritz and Adam Semple saw them to stumps on day two without further loss.

Hauritz (33) was the first to go on day three with Semple (58) out soon after, but not before posting his half-century. The last few wickets fell quickly with Randwick Petersham all out for 185, giving Sydney University victory by 222 runs.

Stuart Clark received the Benaud Medal as the Player of the Final for his double of 72 runs and 3-37 with the ball.

This was Sydney University’s second successive First Grade Premiership. They were also runners-up in this season’s First Grade T20 competition, and Semi Finalists in the First Grade Limited Overs Cup.

While this was a disappointing way for Randwick Petersham to finish their season, they can still be proud of a fine summer in which they won both the First Grade Limited Overs and First Grade T20 trophies, and reached all three First Grade Grand Finals.

In lower grade action, Sydney University won the Second Grade Premiership after defeating Manly-Warringah outright by 268 runs at North Sydney Oval.

The Sutherland club took out both the Third and Fourth Grade crowns.

In Third Grade they beat Sydney by 124 runs at Blacktown International Sportspark, while Fourth Grade saw them defeat Manly-Warringah by five wickets at Waverley Oval.

The Fifth Grade Grand Final at Sydney University Number One saw Gordon beat Sydney University by an innings and 23 runs.

Match Scores – Sydney Grade Grand Finals

First Grade:Sydney University 407 (G Mail 94 S Henry 90 S Clark 72 W Sommerville 39 J Crowley 39no) def Randwick Petersham 185 (A Semple 58 A Coyte 42 N Hauritz 33 S Clark 3-37 S MacGill 3-47)

Second Grade: Sydney University 116 (M Culkoff 39 A Baker 5-25) and 368 (T Kierath 103 K Desai 86 N McLauchlan 4-110 A Lindsay 3-40) def Manly-Warringah 85 (J Toyer 3-30 B Joy 3-12) and 131 (R Bonnor 54 J Toyer 4-34 B Joy 3-42)

Third Grade: Sutherland 290 (A Phillips 72 M Manton 42 A Whatley 41 J Zywietz 32 M White 3-47) def Sydney 166 (C Di Blasio 53 N Govers 40 S Newman 3-37)

Fourth Grade: Sutherland 5-239 (D Mifsud 62 M Kelly 52no) def Manly-Warringah 238 (E Burgess 72 T Kaye 76 C Macnamara 5-31 P Burns 3-60)

Fifth Grade: Gordon 224 (T Curruthers 43 R Klemt 35 T Cooper 31 D Monaghan 30 A Milhalyka 4-32 M Skinner 3-12) def Sydney University 109 (T Bangs 5-21) and 92 (D Monaghan 5-8)

Full scorecards from all Grand Finals can be found at <>

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame