Sydney Cricket Ground hosts future Ashes stars

22/02/13 Category: News Posted by:

The Sydney Cricket Ground will next week host future Ashes stars when the Australia A side take on the England Lions in the final one-day matches of the current five game series.

The fixtures on Monday 25th February (day match) and Friday 1 March (day/nighter), will give New South Wales cricket fans a chance to watch many of the young stars from both countries, in a potential pointer to future Ashes series between the two teams.

For New South Wales fans it will also be a chance to see England Internationals such as James Taylor, Danny Briggs, Rikki Clarke, Stuart Meaker and Alex Hales. Hales caused a stir during the recent KFC T20 Big Bash League, when after stepping off a plane to play his first match for the Melbourne Renegades at the Sydney Cricket Ground, he smashed 89 from 52 balls, to help defeat the Sydney Sixers.

In addition NSW SpeedBlitz Blues players Ben Rohrer, Josh Hazlewood and Gurinder Sandhu are part of the Australia A squad. Sandhu, in particular, has created his own level of interest after taking 14 wickets in only four Ryobi Cup matches this season. The 19 year-old pace bowler is seen as a future International and will be closely watched by selectors.

Monday 25 February: Australia A v England Lions, SCG, 10.30am start (day match)

Friday 1 March: Australia A v England Lions, SCG, 2pm start (day/nighter)

Tickets (only available at the gate)
Adults – $10
Concession – $5
Children (under 16) – Free

Australia A squad
Aaron Finch (c)
Alex Doolan
Joe Burns
Callum Ferguson
Ben Rohrer
Tim Paine (wk)
Ben Cutting
John Hastings
Cameron Boyce
Alister McDermott
Josh Hazlewood
Gurinder Sandhu

England Lions squad:
James Taylor (Nottinghamshire) (Capt)
Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)
Scott Borthwick (Durham)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Varun Chopra (Warwickshire)
Rikki Clarke (Warwickshire)
Ben Foakes (Essex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Simon Kerrigan (Lancashire)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
Craig Overton (Somerset)
Toby Roland-Jones (Middlesex)
Reece Topley (Essex)
James Vince (Hampshire)
Chris Wright (Warwickshire)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame