25/07/13 Category: News Posted by:

The Sydney Sixers have today announced nine new members to their KFC T20 Big Bash League squad for the coming summer including Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus North and Nathan Lyon.

Once again embracing their love of magenta, Hazlewood and Starc will be joined by Dan Smith and one of the only Poms we’ll tolerate this summer, Michael Lumb, in re-signing for the Sixers.

Aligning with the SCG based Club for the first time will be Marcus North, Nathan Lyon, Trent Copeland, Sean Abbott and Jordan Silk.

They will join the previously signed Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson, Stephen O’Keefe and Steve Smith.

After a competitive contracting period and great consideration around the number of players who may be on international duty, the areas the team needed bolstered and of course who can actually pull off magenta, Head Coach Trevor Bayliss is confident he has assembled a strong squad.

“Michael Lumb has been a great performer for us in the past and we look forward to welcoming him back, and we would expect to see more of Hazlewood this season who is currently performing well for Australia A in Africa,” Bayliss said.

“We suspect Starc will be a regular in the Aussie squad however we are hopeful to see him play a game or two in BBL03.

“Marcus North’s addition to the team will bolster the middle order and Copeland is coming off a strong showing in England for Northamptonshire.

“The batting skills of Jordan Silk and keeping skills of Dan Smith, as well as the addition of spinner Nathan Lyon and all-rounder Sean Abbott will improve the depth in our squad. Depth will be important with a heavy BBL and international schedule coming up this summer.”

With only three spots left for the Sixers to sign in BBL03, the coaching and selection staff will be on the lookout to secure those final few signatures.

The BBL will launch into stadiums and living rooms across the country from December with the Sixers marking the start of the tournament with their home match against cross-town rivals the Sydney Thunder at the SCG.

The revitalized draw, that runs predominantly post-Christmas and throughout January, will also see the Melbourne Stars (29 December), the Perth Scorchers (10 January) and the Hobart Hurricanes (15 January) head to Sydney to test the Sixers.

Memberships are also on sale now – with exclusive offers and Members Only activities and access a feature of the Sixers offering. Tickets will go on sale to the general public in November.

Players signed for BBL03: Brad Haddin, Sean Abbott, Trent Copeland, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Brett Lee, Michael Lumb, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Marcus North, Stephen O’Keefe, Jordan Silk, Dan Smith, Steve Smith and Mitchell Starc.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame