NSW women conquer all before them

26/02/13 Category: News Posted by:

NSW’s female cricketers have been unstoppable this summer, with victory at the Imparja Cup last Saturday completing a clean sweep of all Cricket Australia Female National Championships held in 2012/13 for the State.

This summer, the Lend Lease Breakers became the first team ever to win both the Women’s National Cricket League and Women’s T20 titles in the same season, while the NSW U/18 team won the Betty Butcher Shield for the ninth consecutive season.

The NSW U/15 team won the Christina Matthews Shield for the first time since the 2008/09 season, while this was the sixth straight crown for the Imparja Cup side.

It is the first time that NSW has achieved a clean sweep of all National Championships since the 2008/09 season.

“To achieve the clean sweep is a terrific result and something all of the players involved can be extremely proud of. It was especially exciting to see how our Youth sides dominated their respective tournaments, and I look forward to seeing those girls press for selection in the senior NSW team over the next few years,” said Lend Lease Breakers captain, Alex Blackwell.

“Winning all of the National Championships in the same season is a wonderful reflection of the support Cricket NSW provides female players at all levels, and the strength and depth of our programs,” she added.

In addition to achieving the clean sweep, seven Lend Lease Breakers were part of Australia’s World Cup winning squad in India, while eight players where part of the Southern Stars’ successful World T20 campaign in Sri Lanka.


Players involved in NSW’s clean sweep of National Championships in 2012/13 (clubs/regions in brackets):

Lend Lease Breakers: Alex Blackwell (Universities/Riverina), Rachael Haynes (Universities), Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports), Nicola Carey (St George-Sutherland), Sarah Coyte (Campbelltown-Camden), Alyssa Healy (Sydney), Claire Koski (Campbelltown-Camden), Sharon Millanta (Bankstown Sports), Erin Osborne (St George-Sutherland/Central North), Ellyse Perry (Sydney), Leah Poulton (St George-Sutherland/Newcastle), Angela Reakes (Sydney/North Coast), Lisa Sthalekar (Gordon), Kara Sutherland (Universities/North Coast)

Imparja Cup: Julie Muir (St George-Sutherland), Sam Hinton (St George-Sutherland), Jemma Astley (Central Coast), Ashleigh Gardner (Bankstown Sports), Veronica Gordon (St George-Sutherland), Rheanna Lotter (St George-Sutherland), Ricki Lee Bell-Sloan (Parramatta-Blacktown), Madison McCooey (Penrith), Rhiannon McCooey (Penrith), Renae Melville (Parramatta-Blacktown), Roxsanne Van Veen (Western), Nicole Honeysett (Western)

NSW U/15: Danielle Armstrong (St George-Sutherland), Jemma Astley (Northern District/Central Coast), Lauren Cheatle (Campbelltown-Camden/Illawarra-Southern), Ashley Day (Penrith), Amy Edgar (Penrith/Western), Mikayla Hinkley (Penrith), Saskia Horley (Gordon), Clara Iemma (Universities), Angel Lea (Sydney), Carly Leeson (North Coast), Tilly Power (Penrith/Western), Hannah Trethewy (Campbelltown-Camden), Belinda Vakarewa (Campbelltown City)

NSW U/18: Lily Bardsley (Northern District/Central Coast), Tanya Bailey (Campbelltown-Camden), Maitlan Brown (Sydney/North Coast), Stefanie Daffara (Campbelltown-Camden/Illawarra-Southern), Ashleigh Gardner (Bankstown Sports), Maisy Gibson (Universities/Central North), Taryn Heddo (Gordon/Central Coast), Anna Horton (St George-Sutherland), Mary Molloy (St George-Sutherland), Emma Newman (Bankstown Sports), Keira Perry (Bankstown Sports), Lauren Smith (Northern District/Central Coast), Jenny Taffs (Northern District/North Coast)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame