NSW U/17 Male team announced

10/11/11 Category: Blog, Events, News Posted by:

Cricket NSW today named the NSW team to compete at the 2011/12 U/17 Male National Championships, to be played in Hobart from 6-15 December 2011.

The players selected in the team are (clubs/regions in brackets):

Harrison Kelly (captain – Central North)
Steven Birch (North Sydney)
Jamie Brown (Sutherland)
Jake Doran (Fairfield-Liverpool)
Mickey Edwards (Manly-Warringah)
Jeremy Maher (Fairfield-Liverpool)
Grant McCartin (Blacktown)
Jordan O’Donnell (Central Coast)
Jake Scicluna (Central Coast)
Guy Seymour (Western Suburbs)
Daya Singh (Blacktown)
Tom Skelly (Southern Zone)
Daniel Solway (Bankstown)

Coach: Ben Sawyer
Manager/Assistant Coach: Michael Maclennan
Physiotherapist: Shiblee Dowla

This will be Harrison Kelly’s third U/17 National Championship while Daya Singh, Jeremy Maher and Tom Skelly were also part of the NSW team which placed seventh at last season’s tournament.

Daya Singh and Jeremy Maher are also playing First Grade with their respective clubs, with Singh one of the youngest players in the 119 year history of Grade cricket to take five wickets on First Grade debut.

The team also includes Jake Doran, the younger brother of NSW SpeedBlitz Blues spinner, Luke Doran.

Cricket NSW Male Youth Programs Manager, Michael Maclennan, said the team are keen to improve on their disappointing result from last summer.

“We have a very strong bowling attack with five excellent fast bowlers, two of whom have played in the Sydney First Grade competition, and three quality spinners. We also have a lot of depth in the batting so overall I would say we have a very balanced squad,” he said.

“We have picked a squad that we believe can win the National title. We have also been very mindful of the development process and ensured that we picked players who have the potential to play First Class cricket for NSW.”

The NSW team will fly out for the U/17 Male National Championships in Hobart on December 5.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame