NSW Cricket Umpires’ and Scorers’ Association inducts inaugural Hall of Fame members

16/08/13 Category: News Posted by:

The NSW Cricket Umpires’ and Scorers’ Association (NSWCUSA) will celebrate its 100th birthday this evening by announcing the 11 inaugural inductees into its Hall of Fame during a Gala Dinner hosted in Darling Harbour.

Founded on 15 August 1913, the NSWCUSA is the second oldest State umpiring association in Australia, just behind the South Australian Cricket Umpires Association. It has grown from humble beginnings to over 1200 members in 2012/13, with 40 affiliate organisations throughout NSW.

In the last 100 years, the NSWCUSA has produced 84 First Class umpires and 13 Test Umpires, the last of which was former NSW and Tasmanian cricketer, Rod Tucker. It is also the only State-based association in the world to have had three members appointed to the ICC Elite Panel since its inception in 2003, those being Darrell Hair, Simon Taufel and Rod Tucker.

Selection of the inductees was based on the significance of their contribution to umpiring and scoring, and to the NSWCUSA through the Association’s first century.

Compilation of the initial inductees was based on nominations from the NSWCUSA Centenary Committee, background research on the candidates by the authors of the Association’s history, and reference to the Chairman of the NSWCUSA, with final oversight provided by the Board of Directors of the NSWCUSA.

The 2013 Hall of Fame inductees are:
George Borwick MBE
Tom Brooks OAM
Dick Burgess
Dick Callaway
Herb Elphinston
Dick French OAM
Alf Jones
Fred Lyons
Simon Taufel
Ted Wykes OAM

All 11 inductees have umpired First Class cricket, with Borwick, Brooks, Callaway, Elphinston, French, Hair, Jones, Taufel and Wykes going on to stand in Test matches. Burgess, Hair, French and Taufel are the only current living Hall of Fame inductees.

NSWCUSA Chairman, Dr Stephen Poole, said the announcement of the Hall of Fame was a wonderful way to celebrate the Association’s Centenary.

“The NSWCUSA has a rich history and we are extremely proud of what our members have achieved. The men inducted into the Hall of Fame have earned their place based on their outstanding careers, and the marvellous contribution they have made to the development of Association,” he said.

Cricket NSW Chairman, John Warn, congratulated the NSWCUSA on reaching their centenary, and thanked the members for their invaluable service to the game.

“The NSWCUSA has made an enormous contribution to the growth and development of umpiring and scoring in NSW, especially in recent times through their innovative training and education programs. Umpires and scorers are often referred to as the ‘third team’ in a game of cricket and are a crucial part of our sport at all levels. We are extremely grateful to all of these officials for their efforts,” said Warn.

“The creation of a Hall of Fame is a wonderful initiative to recognise the achievements of some outstanding members. These men have set a high standard for all current and future members and I am certain that their legacies will help maintain the NSWCUSA’s status as one of the leading professional associations in cricket,” he added.

To commemorate the Centenary of the NSWCUSA, a book titled “No Dazzling Deeds with Bat or Ball” has been produced. Written by Ronald Cardwell and David Jenkins of The Cricket Publishing Company, the book chronicles the rise, growth and development of umpiring and scoring in NSW from the events that led to the formation of the Association in 1913, right through to today.

2013 NSWCUSA Hall of Fame Inductees
George Borwick MBE (Born: 2 April 1896, Pyrmont; Died 1 August 1981, Hornsby)
George Borwick umpired 24 Tests between 1931 and 1948, as well as 59 First Class matches. He was President of the Association from 1935 until 1955.

Tom Brooks OAM (Born 28 March 1919, Paddington; 16 July 2007, Springwood)
A Life Member of the NSWCUSA, Tom Brooks umpired 23 Tests between 1970 and 1978 and 52 First Class matches. He umpired in the United Kingdom in 1975 and officiated in the Centenary Test.

Dick Burgess (Born: 1 July 1919, Pambula)
Dick Burgess served as Secretary of the NSWCUSA for 14 years and was also made a Life Member. He umpired in eight First Class matches during his career.

Dick Callaway (Born: 2 August 1860, Sydney; Died: 19 March 1935, North Bondi)
Dick Callaway was the first Secretary of the NSWCUSA, holding the position for nine years. Dick stood in 26 First Class matches and three Tests prior to the formation of the NSWCUSA, and two First Class games after its formation.

Herb Elphinston (Born 25 February 1905, Leichhardt; Died 8 July 1966, Forestville)
NSWCUSA Life Member, Herb Elphinston, umpired 10 Test matches between 1948 and 1953, as well as 35 First Class matches.

Dick French OAM (Born: 7 August 1938, Randwick)
Dick French umpired 19 Tests between 1977 and 1987, as well as 37 First Class matches. A Life Member, he also served as President of the Association and is a current Patron.

Darrell Hair (Born: 30 September 1952, Mudgee)
Darrell Hair officiated in 78 Tests between 1992 and 2008, and 88 First Class matches. He is a Life Member of the NSWCUSA and a former Executive Officer.

Alf Jones (Born: Sydney, 6 June 1859, Died: 10 February 1949, Paddington)
Alf Jones umpired seven Test matches prior to the formation of the NSWCUSA. He also stood in 26 First Class matches prior to its formation, and 34 First Class games post formation. Jones was also the NSWCUSA’s inaugural Treasurer, holding the position for 26 years.

Fred Lyons (Born: 1 March 1884, Redfern; Died: 16 March 1966, Croydon)
A Life Member, Fred Lyons was the Secretary of the NSWCUSA for 16 years and President for one year. He officiated in 11 First Class matches during his career.

Simon Taufel (Born 21 January 1971, St Leonards)
Simon Taufel stood in 74 Test matches between 2000 and 2012, as well as 31 First Class fixtures. A NSWCUSA Life Member and multiple winner of the ICC Umpire of the Year award, Simon now works for the ICC as the Umpire High Performance Manager.

Ted Wykes OAM (Born: 28 April 1921, Little Brighton, Northampton,UK; Died 22 November 2008, Wollongong)
Ted Wykes umpired in one Test match and 70 First Class games at the SCG. In fact, the Umpires’ Room at the famous ground is named after him. Wykes was a President and Patron of the Association, and was also made a Life Member.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame