NSW Blues take expanded squad to Perth for must win match

13/03/15 Category: News Posted by:

The NSW Blues will take a squad of 14 players to Perth for this week’s must win Bupa Sheffield Shield match against Western Australia at The WACA Ground (March 13 – 16).

NSW are third on the Shield table with 44.82 points heading into the last round of the competition.

Western Australia (48.48 points) are second and Victoria (48.54 points) first.

A win for the Blues will see them leap-frog Western Australia and defend their title in the Final, while anything else would signal an end to their season.

The Blues are also a chance of hosting the Shield Final if they beat Western Australia and Victoria lose their last round match to Tasmania.

Selectors have named an expanded squad to travel to Perth with fast bowler Josh Lalor, and batsmen Nick Larkin and Jake Doran added to the squad which defeated Tasmania.

Captain Moises Henriques has been included after missing the Blues’ last match with a groin injury. Kurtis Patterson won’t play in Perth after sustaining a finger injury against the Tigers.

The full squad is (clubs/regional zones or junior associations in brackets):
Moises Henriques (captain – St George/Georges River-St George DCA)
Sean Abbott (Sydney University/Parramatta DCA)
Doug Bollinger (Fairfield-Liverpool/Parramatta DCA)
Ryan Carters (Sydney University/ACT-Southern Zone)
Jake Doran (Fairfield-Liverpool/Blacktown DCA)
Scott Henry (Sydney University/Western Zone)
Josh Lalor (Penrith/Penrith DCA)
Nick Larkin (Sydney University/North Coastal Zone)
Nathan Lyon (Northern District/Riverina Zone)
Nic Maddinson (Eastern Suburbs/ACT-Southern Zone)
Peter Nevill (Eastern Suburbs)
Stephen O’Keefe (Manly-Warringah/Hawkesbury DCA)
Ben Rohrer (Fairfield-Liverpool/Fairfield-Liverpool DCA)
Gurinder Sandhu (Fairfield-Liverpool/Blacktown DCA)

The NSW Blues and Western Australia last met at the end of February, with Western Australia winning the match in Newcastle by seven wickets.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame