Lend Lease Breakers win 10th straight WNCL title

27/01/15 Category: News Posted by:

The Lend Lease Breakers have confirmed their status as one of Australia’s most successful domestic sporting teams, defeating South Australia by 144 runs to win their 10th consecutive Women’s National Cricket League 50 over title.
Today’s victory at Blacktown International Sportspark continues NSW’s dominance of this competition since its inception in 1996.

They have now played in every single final series and won 17 out of a possible 19 titles.

The Breakers won this season’s competition after being ranked fourth at the end of the preliminary rounds.

They then defeated Minor Premiers Victoria by seven wickets in the Semi Final on Friday before accounting for South Australia today.

NSW made one change to their squad from the Semi with Georgia Redmayne chosen to make her debut.

Sent into bat after losing the toss, NSW made the most of their opportunities with some big partnerships.

Alyssa Healy (40) and Rachael Haynes (79) got the ball rolling with an 89 run opening stand before Haynes and Alex Blackwell (67) piled on 87 runs for the second wicket.

Leah Poulton (9) perished while chasing quick runs but Ellyse Perry ensured a strong finish to the innings with 57 runs from just 50 balls.

NSW then bowled South Australia out for 135 to complete an emphatic 144 run victory.

Erin Osborne (3-44) was the leading wicket taker followed by Sarah Aley (2-35), Ellyse Perry (2-19), Sarah Coyte (1-19), Nicola Carey (1-11) and Angela Reakes (1-17).

Rachael Haynes was named Player of the Final for the third time in her career.

Click here to view a scorecard of the match: https://live.cricket.com.au/#/5037/24

The season is not over for the Lend Lease Breakers who will now take on Victoria in the WT20 Final on Wednesday in Canberra.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame