Lend Lease Breakers face new test against resurgent Queensland

15/12/11 Category: Blog, Events, News Posted by:

The Lend Lease Breakers take on a revitalised Queensland Fire this weekend in Women’s T20 and Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) matches at Drummoyne Oval (December 16-18). There is plenty to play for, especially in the WT20 competition, with both sides locked on equal points at the top of the competition table.

This is the penultimate round of matches for the women’s domestic season. Yet to drop a match this summer, the Lend Lease Breakers have been the pace-setters in both  competitions while Queensland have bounced back brilliantly from 2010/11 when they finished second last in both the T20 and 50 over formats.

The WT20 matches on Friday (December 16, 2pm) and Sunday (December 18, 10am) will be a top-of-the table clash, with both teams on 14 points. With the top two teams qualifying for the Final, they will be desperate to pick up some points from the weekend with third placed Victoria in hot pursuit.

In the WNCL (50 over competition), the Lend Lease Breakers can sew up a place in their 16th consecutive Final with a win over Queensland on Saturday (December 17, 10am). The team is gunning for a record breaking seventh consecutive WNCL title.

Selectors have made just one addition to the Lend Lease Breakers squad which beat Victoria twice a fortnight ago with veteran Sarah Aley recalled for this round.

The full squad for the round of matches against Queensland is (clubs/suburbs in brackets):
Alex Blackwell (captain – Universities)
Erin Osborne (vice-captain – Central North/St George-Sutherland)
Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports)
Sarah Coyte (Campbelltown-Camden)
Rachael Haynes (Universities)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney)
Claire Koski (Campbelltown-Camden)
Sharon Millanta (Bankstown Sports)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame