Lend Lease Breakers dominate South Australia to claim competition lead

23/12/13 Category: Blog Posted by:

The Lend Lease Breakers have moved to outright first on the Women’s T20 competition ladder with a comprehensive 42 run victory over South Australia at Drummoyne Oval today.

Batting first, the Lend Lease Breakers posted 7-147 from their 20 overs. They got off to a flying start with openers Leah Poulton (34 off 33) and Alyssa Healy (20 off 12) putting on 44 runs inside the first six overs.

Alex Blackwell came to crease when Healy was dismissed and proceeded to strike 54 runs off 45 balls. The NSW captain was brilliant against the South Australian spinners, hitting seven boundaries during her stay at the crease.

The platform laid by the top order provided the remaining NSW batters with the opportunity to hit out in the final few overs. However, South Australia fought back, taking regular wickets to keep the scoring in check with leg-spinner Amanda Wellington claiming 4-27 from four overs.

The Lend Lease Breakers struck early in the field with Sharon Millanta trapping Bridget Patterson (3) lbw before Rhianna Peate (10) was run out for the third time in as many matches. A few minutes later, Tegan McPharlin (0) became Millanta’s second victim with Blackwell accepting a simple catch at cover.

Sarah Aley (1-16) chipped in with the wicket of former England player Beth Morgan (6), stumped by Healy, then Angela Reakes (3-22) snared three quick wickets to put the match beyond doubt. South Australia finished their innings on 8-105, well short of their target, with Sharon Millanta named Player of the Match.

Today’s victory sees the Lend Lease Breakers jump two points clear of Victoria at the top of the WT20 competition ladder. They also sit in first position in the WNCL on 27 points, six clear of the Victorians.

The team will now have a well-earned break over Christmas before commencing preparations for their next round of matches against Western Australia in Perth (January 2-4)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame