Lend Lease Breakers create history

21/01/13 Category: News Posted by:

The Lend Lease Breakers are the 2012/13 Women’s T20 champions after defeating Western Australia by five wickets at the WACA Ground in Perth today.

In doing so, the Breakers became the first ever side to win both the Women’s National Cricket League (50 over) and Women’s T20 titles in the same season, since the T20 competition was introduced to the calendar in 2009/10.

The Lend Lease Breakers have won the last eight consecutive WNCL titles, however, this was their first ever WT20 crown. They had reached the Final in each of the last three years, only to be defeated by Victoria on each occasion.

However, that monkey is now off the team’s back and Lend Lease Breakers captain, Alex Blackwell, said the team could not be happier.

“I am extremely proud of this team. Winning the WT20 Trophy was our major goal for the season. We’ve fallen short in the last three Finals, so today’s victory was extra sweet,” she said.

The Lend Lease Breakers came into today’s Final undefeated, with 12 wins from their 12 preliminary matches.

Winning the toss and batting, Western Australia came out swinging with Jenny Wallace (24) and Suzie Bates (41) putting on 42 runs inside the first six overs.

Fortunately, NSW were able to peg back their rivals at the end of the power play to restrict the home side to 5-126 from their 20 overs.

Sarah Coyte was the pick of the Lend Lease Breakers bowlers, taking 2-18 from her four overs, while Erin Osborne also impressed with 1-21 from her four.

NSW’s innings followed a similar pattern to Western Australia’s.

The Lend Lease Breakers opened with a 42 run first wicket partnership between Leah Poulton (41) and Alyssa Healy (20), before Western Australia clawed their way back into the match with some tight overs in middle.

Three quick wickets with victory target in sight gave Western Australia a glimmer of hope, however, the calm head of Player of the Final, Alex Blackwell (40 not out), prevailed as the Lend Lease Breakers got home in the final over with five wickets in hand.

Today’s win marked the end of the Lend Lease Breakers’ 2012/13 campaign which saw them drop only one match all summer. That loss was against Victoria in the last preliminary round of the WNCL, which ended an astonishing winning streak in that format of 23 matches, dating back to 2009.

Seven members of the squad, Alex Blackwell, Rachael Haynes, Lisa Sthalekar, Erin Osborne, Sarah Coyte, Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy, will now link with the Australian team early next week ahead of next month’s World Cup in India.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame