Lend Lease Breakers complete “the double” with WT20 Final win over Victoria

29/01/15 Category: News Posted by:

The Lend Lease Breakers defeated Victoria by 51 runs in the Final of Women’s T20 competition at Manuka Oval in Canberra today, adding this trophy to the Women’s National Cricket League 50 over crown they claimed last Sunday.
It is the second time that the Lend Lease Breakers have completed “the double”. They last won both competitions in 2012/13 when they became the first team to achieve this feat.
NSW’s win in today’s Final was built on a spectacular batting effort, followed up by a near perfect performance in the field.

Winning the toss, NSW captain Alex Blackwell had no hesitation in batting first on a Manuka Oval wicket with a reputation as being a paradise for batters.

The Breakers lost Alyssa Healy (4) early before a 99 run second wicket stand between Blackwell and Leah Poulton laid the platform for the team’s final total of 3-175 from their 20 overs.

Poulton took the attack to the Victorian bowlers from ball one as she piled on 61 runs from 49 balls.

Blackwell started slower but once she had her eye in, she was near unstoppable as she blasted 72 from 43 balls in a Player of the Match performance.

Rachael Haynes (24no) and Ellyse Perry (13no) then added 35 runs in the last three overs to ensure Victoria faced a daunting chase.

Victoria needed a fast start however brilliant opening spells from Ellyse Perry and Sarah Coyte forced them onto the back foot early, with only five runs scored from the first three overs.

The scoreboard pressure was telling and led to the run out of Elyse Villani who fell to a direct hit from Sarah Coyte.

A few overs later Coyte was in the action again, knocking over Emma Inglis with a yorker.

Meg Lanning now loomed as the key to Victoria’s chase and she found a couple of allies, putting on 38 runs for the third wicket with Jess Cameron (9) and 30 runs for the fourth wicket with Kelly Applebee (11).

However hers proved to be a lone hand and when she was bowled for 72 from 42 balls in the 17th over, Victoria’s chase was as good as over and they finished their 20 overs on 8-124.

Erin Osborne finished as the pick of the NSW bowlers with 5-27 from four overs, while Ellyse Perry was miserly, bowling four overs and conceding just nine runs.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame