Lend Lease Breakers aiming to win “the double” in Women’s T20 Final

28/01/15 Category: News Posted by:

With the Women’s National Cricket League 50 over title safely in their keeping, the Lend Lease Breakers will be out to complete “the double” when they face Victoria in the Women’s T20 Final at Manuka Oval in Canberra on Wednesday (January 28, 2pm). The Breakers are the only team to have won both the National 50 over and T20 trophies since the inception of the WT20 competition in 2009, achieving the feat in the 2012/13 season. They now have an opportunity to repeat that effort when they face arch rivals Victoria.

NSW and Victoria finished first and second respectively on the competition ladder to qualify for the Final.

Both teams, and Queensland, finished on equal points however NSW were able to claim top spot thanks to a superior net run rate.

NSW and Victoria last clashed just a few days ago in the Semi Final of the WNCL, where NSW won by seven wickets.

Their last meetings in the T20 competition came at the start of this month with both teams winning one game each from the double header.

The Lend Lease Breakers have named a squad of 13 for the WT20 Final. Selectors have made just one change from the squad which won the WNCL Final on Sunday, with Kara Sutherland coming in for Georgia Redmayne.

The full squad is (clubs/regional zones in brackets):
Alex Blackwell (captain – Universities/Riverina)
Rachael Haynes (vice-captain – Universities)
Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports)
Nicola Carey (St George-Sutherland)
Sarah Coyte (Campbelltown-Camden)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney)
Erin Osborne (Sydney/Central Northern)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney)
Leah Poulton (Universities/Newcastle)
Angela Reakes (Sydney/North Coastal)
Lauren Smith (Northern District/Central Coast)
Naomi Stalenberg (Penrith)
Kara Sutherland (Universities/North Coastal)

The Women’s T20 Final will be broadcast live on One HD and ABC Radio.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame