Lend Lease Breakers aiming for nine titles in a row

11/02/14 Category: News Posted by:

The Lend Lease Breakers will be gunning for their ninth consecutive Women’s National Cricket League title, and their 16th in 18 seasons, when they take on arch rivals Victoria in the Final at North Sydney Oval this Sunday (February 16, 10am).

Selectors have named a squad of 13 for the match including seven players with International experience in Alex Blackwell, Rachael Haynes, Sarah Coyte, Alyssa Healy, Sharon Millanta, Erin Osborne and Leah Poulton.

The full squad for the Final is (clubs/regional zones in brackets):
Alex Blackwell (captain – Universities/Riverina)
Rachael Haynes (vice-captain – Universities)
Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports)
Nicola Carey (St George-Sutherland)
Sarah Coyte (Campbelltown-Camden)
Stefanie Daffara (Campbelltown-Camden/Illawarra-Southern)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney)
Sharon Millanta (Bankstown Sports)
Erin Osborne (Sydney/Central Northern)
Leah Poulton (St George-Sutherland/Newcastle)
Angela Reakes (Sydney/North Coastal)
Naomi Stalenberg (Campbelltown-Camden)
Kara Sutherland (Universities/North Coastal)

All-rounder Sarah Coyte returns to the side after missing last week’s Women’s T20 Semi Final with an injury, while young medium-pace bowler Naomi Stalenberg is poised to play her first WNCL Final after making her debut earlier this season. Ellyse Perry is unavailable due to a clash with the W-League Semi Final, with Claire Koski omitted from the squad.

Lend Lease Breakers captain, Alex Blackwell, said her team was out to finish the season on a high.

“We are expecting another intense match against the Victorians. Like us, they would have been disappointed to miss out on the Women’s T20 Final, and I am expecting two very determined teams to take the field on Sunday. That’s exciting for us and we are looking forward to taking them on,” she said.

The Lend Lease Breakers and Victoria have played 54 times in the WNCL with NSW winning 35 matches and Victoria 17, with one washout and one tie.

Between them, they have won all 17 WNCL titles since the competition’s inception in 1996/97, with Victoria’s last title coming in 2004/05.

Entry to the WNCL Final is free, with play starting at 10am.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame