Khawaja, Nannes and Sandhu back on board for the Thunder for BBL|04

07/07/14 Category: News Posted by:

The re-shaping of the Sydney Thunder squad for this season’s KFC T20 Big Bash has continued with Usman Khawaja, Dirk Nannes and Gurinder Sandhu all committing to the men in green for the coming campaign.

With Jacques Kallis to fill one of the overseas spots in the squad and Mike Hussey back as captain, the signing of the three players is a major boost to new coach Paddy Upton as he looks to create depth in the squad.

Usman Khawaja, showed last season that he has developed into an outstanding opener in this form of the game, averaging 54 in BBL|03, with a strike rate of close to 120, and he will help provide an experienced engine room in the top order, alongside Kallis and Hussey.

Both Nannes and Sandhu, will also be vital to the Thunder this season, with both bowlers playing a key role during the previous campaign. The evergreen Nannes, was the 2nd highest wicket-taker for the Thunder in BBL|03, with eight scalps and he will continue to nurture the 21 year-old Sandhu, who led the Thunder bowling statistics with ten wickets and a miserly economy rate of 6.5 runs per over.

Thunder General Manager Nick Cummins is delighted that all three players are back: “Having Usman, Dirk and Gurinder back on board is great news for Thunder fans. All three were major contributors last season, and we have sought to retain only the most outstanding talent of the BBL03 list. Both Dirk and Usman offer leadership within the playing group and big match experience, while Gurinder is one of the best bowling talents in the country at the moment.”

Thunder Schedule
Sunday, 21 December 2014 – Brisbane Heat – Stadium Australia
Saturday, 27 December 2014 – Sydney Sixers – Stadium Australia
Tuesday, 30 December 2014 – Melbourne Renegades – Etihad Stadium
Thursday, 1 January 2015 – Perth Scorchers – The Furnace (WACA)
Wednesday, 7 January 2015 – Hobart Hurricanes – Spotless Stadium
Friday, 9 January 2015 – Sydney Sixers – SCG
Monday, 12 January 2015 – Adelaide Strikers – Adelaide Oval
Saturday, 17 January 2015 – Melbourne Stars – Spotless Stadium

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame