03/12/12 Category: News Posted by:

The KFC T20 Big Bash League is set to explode in seven days and the final squads of exciting players you will see in action over the super-charged seven weeks of competition have been finalised.

The teams this season are peppered with a wealth of international playing experience with over half of them having played for their respective countries.

Fans will see over 30 new faces pull on the bright colours of their teams in the KFC T20 BBL for the first time. Some of the debutants include Sri Lankan superstars Lasath Malinga and Muttiah Muralidaran, and South African danger-man Dale Steyn.

ICC World T20 Champions the West Indies are well represented with five players across five teams. Big hitting superstar Chris Gayle returns to the Sydney Thunder; Kieron Pollard will play for the Adelaide Strikers; Sunil Narine joins the Sydney Sixers; Kemar Roach will turn out for the Brisbane Heat and Marlon Samuels will don the red of the Melbourne Renegades.

Big Bash League Manager Anthony Everard said: “Once again the Big Bash League has drawn some of the biggest names in world cricket. We will be bringing together some of the world’s most exciting T20 players as well as some fantastic up and coming talent from around Australia.

“We are delighted to welcome back Australian cricket legend Shane Warne and the ageless Brad Hogg to the league as well, both players always provide plenty of entertainment to the fans.

“Our first season exceeded all our expectations however, we are confident the BBL will be bigger and better this year and fans will not be disappointed. We encourage everyone to get to a game this season for some of best value entertainment in town,” he said.

The opening weekend will have plenty of excitement with tense big derby matches first-up between the Melbourne Renegades and the Melbourne Stars next Friday December 7; followed by the two Sydney teams, the Thunder and the Sixers going head-to-head the following night.

The Brisbane Heat have confirmed their squad but will announce their final player on Sunday who has earned his spot in the side following the State-wide KFC T20 Challenge.

There is no better way to experience the BBL than as a member of your favourite team and it’s not too late to sign up. Go to www.bigbash.com.au/memberships for more details.

Now that the squads are final get to www.fantasy.bigbash.com.au to pick your BBL fantasy team and smash your mates for six.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame