Indian Cricketing Rotarians Visit the Southern Highlands and the Bradman Museum

02/11/12 Category: Blog Posted by:

Six Indian Rotarians were the guests of the Rotary Clubs of Berrima District and Moss Vale on Wednesday 17th October.

On their way to Adelaide to take part in an international Rotary cricket carnival organised by the Australian members of the International Fellowship of Cricketing Rotarians (IFCR), a key feature of their stopover in Bowral was a visit to the Bradman Museum where Curator David Wells described the origins and development of the Museum, its relationship to the town, the Bradman residences and the eventual marriage of The Don and Jessie Menzies.

During their stopover in Bowral the group attended meetings of the two Rotary Clubs prior to travelling to Melbourne for a tour of the Melbourne Cricket Ground and cricket match at Strath Creek.

In Adelaide the group played four matches on city and suburban grounds, as well as touring the ‘the city of churches’, the Barossa Valley and attending a Sheffield Shield match at the Adelaide Oval.

Members of the Indian Rotary Cricket group (all members of the Rotary Club of Thane).

Ulhas Dandekar, Nitin Jadhav, Pradeep Godbole (Rotary Club of Bombay Juhu Beach), Dr Siva Sivaramakrishnan (Rotary Club of Chembur West)(Chairman IFCR Rotary District 3140), Achyut Damle, Naresh (Nandu) Shenoy (Rotary Club of Deonar)(Secretary IFCR India)

The IFCR is one of many Rotary Fellowships that provide opportunities for Rotarians with like interests to share with other Rotarians around the world. IFCR hosts an international cricket carnival in one of its eleven member nations every two years.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame