Greg Mail joins NSW SpeedBlitz Blues selection panel

18/07/12 Category: News Posted by:

Former NSW SpeedBlitz Blues opening batsman, Greg Mail, has been added to a restructured State Selection Panel for the 2012/13 season, which will also include the NSW SpeedBlitz Blues captain.

Following the Argus Review, Cricket NSW has adopted the Selection Panel model implemented by Cricket Australia, consisting of a full time Chairman, David Freedman, Head Coach Anthony Stuart, the Captain and two part-time selectors.

Captain, Michael Clarke, who is likely to play some Bupa Sheffield Shield matches, will serve as a selector when available for the NSW SpeedBlitz Blues, with Stephen O’Keefe taking over in his absence.

The two part-time positions on the panel will be filled by Mail and former NSW and Australian batsman, Steve Smith, who has been a State Selector since the 1999/2000 summer. Chairman of Selectors, David Freedman, said he was delighted to welcome Mail to the Panel.

“Greg is held in the highest regard by everyone in NSW cricket. Over his 72 games for the NSW SpeedBlitz Blues, and his prolific Grade cricket performances, Greg has developed an intricate knowledge of the skills and attributes required for success at the First Class level.

“I am pleased that Greg will continue to play Grade cricket as this gives him the best seat in the house to assess our next batch of players,” he said.

Freedman also paid tribute to retiring selectors Brian Taber and Marshall Rosen.

“Brian Taber and Marshall Rosen have made an outstanding contribution to NSW cricket over many, many years. Along with Steve Smith, they have presided over a very successful period for the NSW SpeedBlitz Blues, unearthing some exciting talent in the process.”

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame