English International Eoin Morgan signs for the Sydney Thunder

16/10/13 Category: News Posted by:

English ODI star Eoin Morgan has become the latest signing by the Sydney Thunder.

The 27 year-old left-hander, who is rated one of the best middle order ‘finishers’ in the game, is the first overseas signing by the Thunder for BBL|03, and will complement a re-vamped batting line-up that includes Michael Hussey and David Warner.

Morgan, has played in 16 Test matches, where he averages 30.43, with two centuries. It is in the one-day game, however, where he has made his name, having represented England in 107 One Day Internationals and 38 T20 Internationals.

He has been superb in the T20 form of the game and is renowned for being able to hit the ball to all areas of the ground, including the use of unorthodox shots such as the reverse sweep.

His strike rate for England in T20 cricket is an outstanding 131.47, while he has also starred for the Bangalore Royal Challengers and the Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League, in addition to his English County side Middlesex.

Morgan is looking forward to the coming BBL season with the Thunder: “I am really excited about getting the opportunity to join the Sydney Thunder for this season’s Big Bash. I have been a big admirer of the tournament and I’m looking forward to getting a chance to play in it and represent the Thunder. I have been impressed with the way that the club has recruited for this season and I know that everyone is focussing on a strong campaign. It will be great to get a chance to play at ANZ Stadium as our home ground, and to be able to play in front of the members and fans of Thunder Nation.”

Thunder General Manager Nick Cummins is equally excited about the qualities Morgan will bring to the Thunder: “Eoin is a quality player whose experience and leadership will benefit our squad tremendously. His shot-making ability and composure in difficult situations will be a boost to our batting line-up and he will provide a great foil to Mike Hussey in the middle order. Eoin, is one of the most sought-after players in the world in this form of the game and I am delighted that he has chosen to join the Thunder. It is exciting that the fans of Thunder Nation will get a chance to see what a great player he is this summer.”

The Thunder start their campaign with a ‘derby’ match against the Sixers at the SCG on Saturday 21 September.

The current Thunder contracted list is:
Michael Clarke (C)
Mike Hussey
Cameron Borgas
Ryan Carters
Scott Coyte
Luke Doran
Luke Feldman
Jason Floros
Daniel Hughes
Eoin Morgan
Dirk Nannes
Kurtis Patterson
Gurinder Sandhu
Chris Tremain
David Warner

Thunder fixtures
Dec 21, 2013 Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, SCG – 7-15pm
Dec 27, 2013 Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers, ANZ Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 1, 2014 Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars, ANZ Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 3, 2014 Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder, WACA – 4-40pm
Jan 8, 2014 Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat, ANZ Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 11, 2014 Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder, Blundstone Arena – 1-45pm
Jan 14, 2014 Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder, Etihad Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 25, 2014 Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers, ANZ Stadium – 7-15pm

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame