David Warner signs for the Sydney Thunder

25/09/13 Category: News Posted by:

Star batsman David Warner has signed to play for the Sydney Thunder in the KFC T20 Big Bash League this summer.

In an enormous coup for the Thunder, the 26 year-old Warner will move across town from rivals the Sydney Sixers to join the ‘Thunder Nation’ at ANZ Stadium and boost a squad that includes Australian captain Michael Clarke and batsman Mike Hussey.

Warner becomes the 4th Sixers player to move across to play for the Thunder in BBL|03.

One of the most destructive players in the world, Warner has a pretty impressive record with the Thunder having played one match for them in the first ever KFC T20 Big Bash League, scoring an unbeaten 102 in a first-up win against the Melbourne Stars to launch the Thunder’s campaign that season. His call-up for International duty then prevented further appearances for the Thunder.

He is very familiar with ANZ Stadium, however, with a previous appearance there for Australia two seasons ago producing the memorable ‘switch hit’ for six against India, that was replayed around the world, while on Australia Day last season he scored an unbeaten 90 from 62 balls against Sri Lanka.

Warner, forms another part of the re-building of the Thunder, who have a squad that will be looking to challenge strongly this season.

General Manager Nick Cummins is delighted with the signing: “Signing a player of David’s quality is tremendous news for Thunder fans. Although we are unsure at this stage of how many matches he will play due to International commitments, he offers us a world-class batsman who can tear any attack apart. He will also bring experience to the squad and Thunder members and fans know what a match-winner he can be.”

The Thunder start their campaign with a ‘derby’ match against the Sixers at the SCG on Saturday 21 September.

The current Thunder contracted list is:
Michael Clarke (C)
Mike Hussey
Cameron Borgas
Ryan Carters
Scott Coyte
Luke Doran
Luke Feldman
Jason Floros
Daniel Hughes
Dirk Nannes
Kurtis Patterson
Gurinder Sandhu
Chris Tremain
David Warner

Thunder fixtures:

Dec 21, 2013 Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, SCG – 7-15pm
Dec 27, 2013 Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers, ANZ Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 1, 2014 Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars, ANZ Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 3, 2014 Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder, WACA – 4-40pm
Jan 8, 2014 Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat, ANZ Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 11, 2014 Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder, Blundstone Arena – 1-45pm
Jan 14, 2014 Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder, Etihad Stadium – 7-40pm
Jan 25, 2014 Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers, ANZ Stadium – 7-15pm

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame