Cricket NSW announce men’s and women’s Imparja Cup squads

15/12/11 Category: Blog, Events, News Posted by:

Cricket NSW today named the NSW men’s and women’s squads which will defend their titles at the 2011/12 Imparja Cup in Alice Springs (6-11 February 2012).

The players selected are:

NSW Men’s Team (clubs/regions in brackets)
Jeff Cook (captain – Central North)
Matt Bradley (Sutherland)
Ryan Bulger (Sydney)
Damien Duroux (Strathfield)
Andrew Gordon (Western Suburbs)
Matt Jones (Northern District)
Josh Lalor (Penrith) (dependent on State selection)
Jack Manning-Bancroft (University of NSW)
Aaron Muir (St George)
Nathan Price (Randwick Petersham)
Pat Rosser (Western)
Cameron Rosser (Western)
Tyrone Thomas (Southern)
Jake Turner (Eastern Suburbs)
Coach: Michael Maclennan

NSW Women’s Team (club/regions in brackets)
Julie Muir (captain – St George-Sutherland)
Gemma Astley (Newcastle)
Ashleigh Gardner (Bankstown Sports)
Taylor Gilbert (Penrith/Western)
Veronica Gordon (St George-Sutherland)
Samantha Hinton (Western)
Nicole Honeysett (Western)
Helen Laughton (Western)
Rheanna Lotter (St George-Sutherland)
Madinson McCooey (Bankstown Sports)
Nikki Squires (Northern District/Central Coast)
Roxsanne Van-Veen (Western)
Coach: Hamish Solomons

The Imparja Cup is the National competition for indigenous cricketers.

The NSW men’s squad went through last season’s competition undefeated, beating Queensland by 16 runs in the Final.

It is a powerful squad headlined by NSW SpeedBlitz Blues fast bowler, Josh Lalor, who made his First Class and One Day Domestic debuts last month, and will also be playing for the Chairman’s XI against India in Canberra later this week.

Nathan Price has represented the NSW Second XI, while Jeff Cook and Pat Rosser are also part of the NSW Country team and Andrew Gordon is the all-time leading wicket-taker in Imparja Cup history.

The NSW women’s team have been crowned Imparja Cup champions for the last four years. They also went through last summer’s competition undefeated, comprehensively defeating the ACT in the Final of their Tri-Series by 96 runs.

There are a few young guns to watch out for in the NSW women’s team in Ashleigh Gardner and Gemma Astley, both of whom were part of the 2011/12 NSW U/15 team. The team also contains Roxsanne Van-Veen, who represented NSW at the U/17 level back in 2002/03, while Samantha Hinton has represented the NSW Second XI.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame