Chris Hartley to fill the wicket-keeping position for the Sydney Thunder

31/10/14 Category: News Posted by:

Queensland Bulls wicket-keeper Chris Hartley was today announced as the newest member of the Thunder squad for BBL|04, having signed a contract for the next two seasons.

The 32 year-old, who is a veteran of ten seasons of First Class cricket in this country, makes the move to the Thunder after having recently enjoyed a prolific Matador One Day Cup.

Hartley, was joint second on the run-scorers list with 403 runs at an average of 57.57, beaten only by Thunder team-mate Usman Khawaja, who scored 523 runs.

Both players formed a successful partnership at the top of the order, including a 280 run opening stand in the successful run chase of 399 against Tasmania.

This will be the first time that Hartley has played for a team outside of Queensland, having previously been with the Bulls and the Brisbane Heat.

Thunder General Manager Nick Cummins saw the positives that Hartley can bring to the Thunder squad: “Chris is a very experienced cricketer who is in some of the best form of his life. He showed in the recent Matador Cup that he is one of the best gloveman in the country as well as being a great attacking weapon with the bat. He will be a great addition to our squad both on and off the field.”

Hartley is delighted at the opportunity to join the Thunder: “It is an exciting time to be joining the Thunder. They have made some great signings and the depth in their squad looks good leading into this season. Coming to Sydney for the BBL period is a new challenge for me but the club has been very welcoming so far and I look forward to joining up with the playing group and contributing as much as I can.”

Current Thunder squad:
Mike Hussey ©
Aiden Blizzard
Pat Cummins
Jake Doran
Chris Hartley
Nathan Hauritz
Daniel Hughes
Jacques Kallis
Usman Khawaja
Eoin Morgan
Dirk Nannes
Kurtis Patterson
Gurinder Sandhu
Chris Tremain

Thunder Schedule
Sunday, 21 December 2014-Brisbane Heat – Stadium Australia
Saturday, 27 December 2014-Sydney Sixers – Stadium Australia
Tuesday, 30 December 2014-Melbourne Renegades – Etihad Stadium
Thursday, 1 January 2015-Perth Scorchers – The Furnace (WACA)
Wednesday, 7 January 2015-Hobart Hurricanes – Spotless Stadium
Friday, 9 January 2015-Sydney Sixers – SCG
Monday, 12 January 2015-Adelaide Strikers – Adelaide Oval
Saturday, 17 January 2015-Melbourne Stars – Spotless Stadium

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame