Canberra to host KFC T20 Big Bash League Final

30/07/14 Category: Blog, News Posted by:

Cricket Australia has announced the BBL|04 Final will be played just down the road from Sixers HQ with Canberra’s Manuka Oval named as host venue for the match on Wednesday 28 January, 2015.

With the SCG facing a heavy schedule of cricket due to the unique nature of the summer ahead, the decision ensures Sixers fans won’t have far to travel to watch one of the biggest matches of this summer.

This is the first season the BBL Final has not been played at the ground of the highest ranked finalist and provides somewhat of a neutral territory for the decider as well as a confirmed venue for players and fans alike.

Sixers General Manager Dominic Remond commented, “While we would have loved to have the opportunity to host the BBL Final should we have been in a position to, especially after coming so close last season, we understand Cricket Australia’s decision to lock in a venue now given the unique schedule of cricket this summer.

“Sporting codes across the world play their finals at neutral venues and it’s a great opportunity to create an event around the BBL Final that fans can embrace and enjoy in a city that we’re sure will get right behind the match.

“We’ll also clearly have an advantage with players like Brad Haddin and Nathan Lyon having played cricket in the region and the fact that Manuka Oval was home to the NSW Blues Sheffield Shield win last season, featuring the majority of the Sixers squad.”

Tickets for Sydney Sixers matches and the entire KFC T20 Big Bash League tournament, including the final, go on sale on Tuesday 28 October.

Full Sixers match schedule below:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame