Bupa Sheffield Shield – NSW vs Tasmania

06/03/15 Category: News Posted by:

The NSW Blues have bowled Tasmania out for 237 on day one of their Bupa Sheffield Shield match at Bankstown Oval (March 5).

There was a late change to the NSW squad before the game with Moises Henriques succumbing to a groin injury. His place was taken by Ben Rohrer with Peter Nevill assuming the captaincy.

Winning the toss and batting, Tasmania suffered an early setback when Dom Michael (1) was run out.

However, Ed Cowan and Jordan Silk wrestled back control with an 84 run second wicket stand.

This was finally broken shortly before lunch when Cowan (32) was caught at long-off by Gurinder Sandhu from the bowling of Stephen O’Keefe.

A few overs later Silk was caught behind by Peter Nevill from Nathan Lyon’s bowling to have Tasmania 3-88 at the first break.

The resumption of play saw Beau Webster (0) become O’Keefe’s first victim of the second session before Sean Abbott had Alex Doolan (20) caught behind.

Tim Paine (20) was the next batsman to fall. He shouldered arms to a ball from Lyon which spun back viciously to take the wicketkeeper’s off-stump.

Lyon secured his third wicket for the innings by accepting a return catch from Clive Rose (22) and when Sam Rainbird (0) was run out for a duck, it looked like Tasmania would be bowled out for under 200 and NSW would have plenty of time to bat before stumps.

However a 42 run 10th wicket partnership between Andrew Fekete (19) and new Sydney Sixer Jackson Bird (20no) saw the visitors reach 237 before O’Keefe finally ended the innings.

O’Keefe (3-37) and Lyon (3-70) finished with three wickets each while Abbott (2-57) was the other wicket taker.
NSW are 0-4 at stumps after facing two overs. Scott Henry and Ryan Carters are the not out batsmen.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame