22/05/14 Category: News Posted by:

Sixers paceman Brett Lee has inked a new one year deal to remain with the magenta men for BBL04.

Off the back of a successful BBL03 season, that saw him reach a bowling speed of 150km/h for the 20th year in a row, Lee’s new deal ensures he stays a Sixer for what could possibly be his final year of professional cricket.

Lee’s signature ensures the Club maintains a stable roster for the third season in a row, joining the likes of long term Sixers Steve O’Keefe, Josh Hazlewood and Mitch Starc who were all original members.

“Brett had a great season in BBL03, was our second leading wicket taker and bowled at the same pace he did as a 20 year old,” said Sixers General Manager Dominic Remond of Lee’s recent contribution to the Club.

“His ability to close out an innings and hold his nerve in pressure situations shows he has lost none of the competitive spirit that has held him well over his career.

“If he can continue to bowl with the same pace and accuracy then who knows how long he can play on for.”

Lee said his focus remains on BBL04 and contributing to the Sixers both on and off the field.

“My body held up well during BBL03 and it felt good to bowl at pace throughout the season,” said Lee of his 2013/14 season with the Sixers.

“I look at some of the great talent coming through our roster and working with the likes of Mitch Starc, Sean Abbott and Josh Hazlewood is just too good to pass up.

“As with every year, I’ll see how I feel at the end of the season but right now I am just excited to remain in magenta for another year and see if we can go one further next season.”

The Sydney Sixers have eight players contracted on existing contracts from BBL03 including Steve O’Keefe, Mitch Starc, Sean Abbott, Josh Hazlewood, Jordan Silk, Trent Copeland, Ben Dwarshuis and Marcus North, who scored 90 off 46 balls for Derbyshire in the UK’s revamped T20 tournament.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame