Bradman Foundation Life Member John Hartigan Appointed Officer in Order of Australia

26/01/22 Category: News Posted by:

Bradman Foundation Life Member and former Director, John Hartigan, has received an Australia day gong – appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO). 

Hartigan, 74, was duly recognised for, “distinguished service to the media industry, to Indigenous welfare, and to sport.”

After more than 40 years in the media industry working for News Limited, Hartigan spent time as CEO and Chair of the organisation before his resignation in 2011. 

(L to R) John Hartigan, Bob Dwyer, Don Ferguson, Late Michael Ball

A passionate sports lover, Hartigan has also been an Australian Paralympic Committee director since 2014 and a trustee of the Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust since 2011.

Taking on extensive work to increase Aboriginal welfare in the community, too, Hartigan spent time with the Indigenous Marathon Project, the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation, as well as holding a position on the board of Anindilyakwa Land Council.

Hartigan served six years as a director of the Bradman Foundation, before becoming Chairman of Destination NSW. In the role, he created a number successful partnerships between the sporting and tourism industries and took the annual “Vivid Sydney” festival to new heights.

The Bradman Foundation congratulates John on his citation and thanks him for his distinguished serice to the community. 

Tony Dodemaide,  former Victorian and Australian cricketer and now national selector, also received recognition, receiving the Medal of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day Honours.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame