Bradman Birthday Forum

14/06/17 Category: Blog, News Posted by:

Bradman Birthday Forum was a great success!

Malcolm Conn, Gideon Haigh, Daniel Brettig, Mike Coward – Each of the four panelists gave their personal response to Has the art of cricket writing been lost in the digital age?

Owen Zupp – Bradman Forum Moderator

The print by Russell Drysdale “The Cricketers”, was won by Bowral locals Bob and Rita Gilroy.

The Panelists

Daniel Brettig – Panelist
Daniel Brettig is at the forefront of the ‘new wave’ of cricket journalism. Having spent eight years working as a journalist for The Advertiser and AAP in Adelaide and Sydney, he commenced with ESPN Cricinfo in 2011. He is now the Assistant Editor at ESPN Cricinfo, the leading cricket news and information site in the world. Daniel is also the author of ‘Whitewash to Whitewash’, a book that investigates the Australian Cricket team’s triumphs and disasters between the seasons of 2006-07 and 2013-14. He also co-authored ‘Bucking the Trend’, a book detailing the background and playing career of Chris Rogers. Daniel has also written for Inside Sport, Wisden, The Cricketer and Sports Illustrated India.

Mike Coward AM – Master of Ceremonies and Panelist
Mike Coward is one of Australia’s most experienced and travelled cricket writers and commentators. Formerly the chief cricket writer for The Sydney Morning Herald and The Advertiser, Adelaide, and a long-time columnist for The Australian, he has covered the game throughout the world since 1972. An accomplished public speaker and emcee, he has broadcast the game on radio and television, and written, ghosted or edited 12 cricket books. He was interviewer for each of the eight programs in ABC television’s renowned Cricket History Series and is overseeing the establishment of a unique archival interview presentation at the Bradman International Cricket Hall of Fame at Bowral. His books include Cricket Beyond the Bazaar (1990), Australia vs the new South Africa (1994), The Baggy Green- The pride, passion and history of Australia’s sporting icon (2oo8 with Michael Fahey) and A Century of Achievement- The Players and People of the St George DCC (2010). His latest book, Champions (2013), showcases aspects of the interview archive from the International Cricket Hall of Fame.

Gideon Haigh – Guest of Honour and Panelist
Gideon Haigh is an English-born Australian author and journalist, regarded by many in the world of cricket as the foremost writer on the game. He currently writes for The Australian and The Times as well as contributing to numerous journals on sport and business matters. Haigh has written 29 books, 19 on cricket, and has edited a further seven cricket books, many of which have received Australian and international awards. His books The Cricket War (1993) and The Summer Game (1997) are regarded as classics of cricket literature. His latest, On Warne, has received wide acclaim. Life away from writing sees Haigh spending time with his wife Charlotte and young daughter Cecilia, the South Yarra CC and his cat Trumper.

Malcom Conn – Panelist
Malcolm Conn is Head of Communications at Cricket NSW and has decades of experience in cricket writing. Spending 20 years at The Australian newspaper Malcolm covered five Ashes tours and was the first cricket writer to win a Walkley Award (awards for excellence in journalism). As well as being a regular contributor to the Australian media, Malcolm has written extensively for overseas publications including India and London. A new management position created by Cricket NSW and Cricket Australia awarded him the job of Head of Communications at Cricket NSW and Cricket Australia’s Sydney based Communications Manager.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame