Australian squad for KFC T20 INTLs v Sri Lanka announced

21/01/13 Category: News Posted by:

The Cricket Australia (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced a 12-player squad for the two KFC T20 INTL matches against Sri Lanka to be played in Sydney and Melbourne across the Australia Day long weekend.

Tickets are still available to both matches and details on availability are further below.

The Australian squad is:
George Bailey (captain), Hurricanes
Ben Cutting, Heat
Xavier Doherty, Hurricanes
James Faulkner, Stars
Aaron Finch,Renegades
Ben Laughlin, Hurricanes
Shaun Marsh, Scorchers
Glenn Maxwell, Stars
Mitchell Starc, Sixers
Adam Voges, Scorchers
Matthew Wade, Stars
David Warner, Sixers

Commenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: “The NSP has named a talented and exciting squad of 12 players for the two KFC T20 INTL matches against Sri Lanka.

“This squad includes six players who were not in the ICC World T20 squad in September.
Each of these six, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner and Ben Laughlin has shown outstanding form in the T20 format over the past two months. Their performances have been compelling and we anticipate they will take this momentum into the two fixtures scheduled for 26 and 28 January. All except Ben Cutting have represented Australia in T20s previously.

“Aaron Finch was the player of the tournament in the KFC T20 Big Bash League, while Shaun Marsh finished as the highest run-scorer with 412 runs.

“Ben Laughlin bowled cleverly to take the most number of wickets, 14, while Ben Cutting was second highest wicket-taker with 13 at a very good economy rate.

“Ben Rohrer played brilliantly with the Melbourne Renegades and was in strong contention for inclusion, as was Luke Pomersbach. The NSP is pleased to see Luke playing so well and hope his good form continues,” Inverarity said.

The squad will assemble in Sydney on Thursday afternoon.

Where you can watch: Nine’s live coverage of both matches will start at 7:30pm AEDT for a 7:35pm AEDT match start. It will also be live on ABC radio and on mobile devices via the Cricket LIVE Australia app, developed by Vodafone, as well as live scores on

How to get tickets: Tickets are still available for both matches. For more information see CA recommends fans pre-purchase their tickets in the days leading up to the match to avoid queues on game day. Tickets for the match at Stadium Australia start from just $17 for kids, $35 for adults, and a family pass is $78.50. Tickets available from or 132 849.

For the match at the MCG only, if left to the last minute people can visit on their mobile or download the Ticketek app for iPhones and buy tickets on the train/in the car on the way to the game. You can also select mobile ticket delivery to receive tickets direct your phone, therefore avoiding the queues at the ticket booth.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame