Aiden Blizzard signs with the men in green

11/07/14 Category: News Posted by:

Former Hobart Hurricanes batsman Aiden Blizzard is the newest member of the Sydney Thunder, as the team today unveiled its initial squad of ten players for BBL|04.

The 30 year-old left-hander, who is known as one of the most prolific ball strikers in the game, will join a batting group that includes skipper Mike Hussey, Jacques Kallis and Usman Khawaja, as the Thunder look to strengthen their top order.

Blizzard, is a veteran of 61 T20 matches and has experience in the Indian Premier League, having previously been part of the Mumbai Indians squad. Boasting a career strike rate of 140.85, he will offer great boundary-hitting ability to the Thunder squad.

With the Thunder announcing this week that Usman Khawaja, Dirk Nannes and Gurinder Sandhu, were back on board the initial squad is shaping up well with several other major signings, including a second international player, to be announced in the coming weeks.

Thunder General Manager Nick Cummins is delighted with the way the squad is shaping: โ€œOur strategy in the off season has been to target experienced First Class players who will be available for the whole season. The signing of Aiden is tremendous news as he is an explosive batsman with a wealth of T20 experience. Supported by the batting quality of Kallis, Hussey and Khawaja, Aiden should help get our innings off to a great start.

With games to be played at both ANZ Stadium and Spotless Stadium in BBL|04, as well as a new coach in Paddy Upton on board, there is a good feeling around the club for what the coming season will hold.

We will be in a position to announce the rest of our squad, including our second overseas player, in the coming weeks.โ€

Current Thunder squad:
Mike Hussey (c)
Aiden Blizzard
Cameron Borgas
Daniel Hughes
Jacques Kallis
Usman Khawaja
Dirk Nannes
Kurtis Patterson
Gurinder Sandhu
Chris Tremain

Thunder Schedule
Sunday, 21 December 2014 – Brisbane Heat – Stadium Australia
Saturday, 27 December 2014 – Sydney Sixers – Stadium Australia
Tuesday, 30 December 2014 – Melbourne Renegades – Etihad Stadium
Thursday, 1 January 2015 – Perth Scorchers – The Furnace (WACA)
Wednesday, 7 January 2015 – Hobart Hurricanes โ€“ Spotless Stadium
Friday, 9 January 2015 – Sydney Sixers – SCG
Monday, 12 January 2015 – Adelaide Strikers – Adelaide Oval
Saturday, 17 January 2015 – Melbourne Stars โ€“ Spotless Stadium

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame