2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series Announced

09/03/17 Category: Blog, News Posted by:

Historic inaugural day-night Test confirmed

– Australia to begin Ashes defence against England on 22 October 2017 in Brisbane
– Multi-format series to feature three One-Day Internationals, one Test and three Twenty20 Internationals
– 16 points up for grabs across seven stand-alone matches
– North Sydney Oval to host first ever women’s Day-Night Test from 9-12 November

2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series, Australia v. England
First ODI – AB Field, Brisbane – 22 October 2017
Second ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 26 October 2017
Third ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 29 October 2017

Test match (Day-Night) – North Sydney Oval – 9-12 November 2017

First T20 – North Sydney Oval – 17 November 2017
Second T20 – Manuka Oval, Canberra – 19 November 2017
Third T20 – Manuka Oval – 21 November 2017

Women’s Ashes Points System
Test: Win – 4 points
ODI: Win – 2 points
T20: Win – 2 points

On the eve of International Women’s Day, Cricket Australia and the England and Wales Cricket Board have confirmed the 2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series, with Australia and England to make history when they contest the first ever Day-Night Ashes Test from 9-12 November 2017.

The Australian and England Cricket teams will contest three One-Day Internationals, one Test match and three Twenty20 Internationals, with the team that accumulates the most points across the series to be crowned the winner of the 2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series. The multi-format points system awards teams two points for an ODI or T20 win and four points for victory in the four-day Test match.

Following a summer in which women’s cricket attracted record attendance and broadcast numbers, all seven matches have been confirmed as stand-alone fixtures, ensuring the number one team in the world, Australia, will gain maximum exposure at venues that have traditionally attracted strong community support.

Speaking on the announcement of the schedule, Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said:

“We’re excited to confirm the Ashes schedule in what is going to be a historic summer for Women’s cricket and we’re thrilled to be hosting the inaugural women’s Day-Night Test match at North Sydney Oval.

“The venues that have been confirmed are a result of a strategic decision to give this series the opportunity to gain as much exposure as possible and continue to build women’s cricket as a mainstream sport as we look toward the World T20 in Australia in 2020, of which the final is just three years away.

“A number of players have taken part in testing of both the pink ball and North Sydney as a venue and the feedback has been overwhelmingly positive.

“The decision to put the number one ranked team in the world in front of the Australian public across seven stand-alone fixtures was an easy one, ensuring they remain as accessible as possible to fans and the ongoing support from Channel Nine and our other broadcast partners plays a pivotal role in making this happen.

“Girls and women are playing cricket in record numbers and participation growth last summer was fuelled by the incredibly successful launch of the Women’s Big Bash League, with the second season also putting us on track for another record,” Mr. Sutherland said.

“There’s lots happening in women’s sport around the country at the moment, and with many sports recognising this better than ever before, it can only see cricket and other sports go from strength to strength.

“Cricket have run a national Women’s competition for more than 70 years, but we recognise we have plenty more to achieve. We’re very proud of our players inspiring more girls and young women to pick up a bat and ball, and truly make cricket a sport for all.

“We are committed to ensuring cricket is the number one sport for both women and girls in Australia and the 2017-18 summer is another important step in our continued investment into the women’s game.

“Our National Team has led the way on and off the field for a significant period of time and, despite only recently reclaiming the Ashes, they have maintained an advantage over England, and the fight and character they possess is just one facet that makes these women such wonderful role models,” Mr Sutherland concluded.

Australia is the current holder of the Women’s Ashes, having reclaimed the trophy in 2015 for the first time on English soil since 2001. Prior to 2013, the Women’s Ashes was decided on the outcome of Test matches only. Australia holds an 8-6 series advantage since the first competition in 1934.

Ticketing and broadcast details for the series will be announced in due course.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame